Diocese of Limerick Heritage Project Home Index Search Help

History   Killeedy   Churches

Raheenagh Church | Ashford Church | Church Ruins

Raheenagh Church

Raheenagh church
© Raheenagh church

There are two churches in use in Killeedy parish at present, the first at Raheenagh, and the second at Ashford. The present church in Raheenagh was planned by W. Fogarty and built by P. Scanlan from Bruff and building commenced in October 1863. This single nave church is situated along the main road.

Stained Glass window in Raheenagh church
© Stained Glass window
in Raheenagh church

In the main porch of the church in Raheenagh there is a plaque that states that Bishop Newman and Fr Patrick O'Dea PP rededicated the church on October 17th 1976. The architects of the church were McMahon; McMahon & Hickey of Limerick and the builders were West Riverside Building Co. of Askeaton.

Altar in Raheenagh church
© Altar in Raheenagh church

Inside the main door there is a statue of St Joseph on the right and a statue of Mary on the left. Over the main door of the church there is a stained glass window of St Ita. This window, pictured above, was erected in memory of Michael McAuliffe, Gorteen and his parents.

Statues in Raheenagh church  Statues in Raheenagh church  Statues in Raheenagh church
© Statues in Raheenagh church

In the left transept there is a statue of St Anthony, the baptismal font and a statue of the Sacred Heart. A large crucifix stands behind these three items. To the left of the altar there is a statue of St Ita. Mrs Ned Cremin and Sean of Ballintubber donated the altar crucifix.

Buried in the grounds of the church are:

  Fr Martin O'Donnell,PP from 1979 until 1986, Died 1986, Aged 70
  Michael Mulcahy, PP of Killeedy for 33 years, Died April 19th 1906,
Aged 57

Raheenagh Church | Ashford Church | Church Ruins

Heritage Project Home | Killeedy Home | Back to Top

History         Churches