Diocese of Limerick Heritage Project Home Index Search Help

History   Rockhill-Bruree   Churches

Rockhill Church | Bruree Church | Church Ruins

Rockhill Church

Rockhill church
© Rockhill church

The church in Rockhill was built in 1842 by Fr James Ryan P.P. and was renovated in 1950/51 by Fr Denis Kelly P.P. The church is built on a hill and from the church there is a stunning view of the surrounding countryside. Prior to the building of the church in 1842 in Rockhill, there was a church on the same site from the 1810s.

Church Altar
© Church Altar

The altar in the church is to the memory of James Dunworth, Mrs. Dunworth and their children. On the left of the altar there are two statues, to St Brigid and the Sacred Heart. Statues to St Joseph and the Virgin Mary are to the right of the altar. The church has a high ceiling.

Two local men, Gerry Hynes and Pat Lyons told us that prior to the renovation of the church in 1950/51, the priests were buried under the church floor. The plaques were covered over when the new floor was laid and there is no longer any indication of which priests are buried in the church.

Buried within the Church is:

  James Ryan P.P., Died January 6 1859

Buried in the grounds of the church are:

  Canon Joseph Moran, P.P. 1976-1986, Died August 6 1986
  Canon James Kelly, P.P. 1964-1976, Died April 27 1976
  Edmund McCarthy, P.P. for 9 months, Died October 3 1964, aged 60
  Canon Denis Kelly, P.P. 1941-1964, Died January 31 1964, aged 77
  Canon John Breen, P.P. 1921-194, Died January 10 1941, aged 83
  Gerald O'Connor, Died August 10 1921, aged 62

Rockhill Church | Bruree Church | Church Ruins

Heritage Project Home | Rockhill-Bruree Home | Back to Top

History         Churches