Diocese Home Heritage Home Index Search Help

   St Patrick's   History

Park in St Patrick's Parish
© Park in St Patrick's Parish

Welcome to St Patrick's!

The parish of St Patrick's was one of the five original medieval parishes of the city of Limerick. St Patrick's parish used to encompass the old parishes of Ballysimon/Derrygalvin and Kilmurry (now Monaleen). In 1704 St Nicholas' was a separate parish but by 1711 it had been joined with St Patrick's parish following the death of Fr Michael Dwyer. The church in Kilquane was also in the parish at Athlunkard.

In 1971, to accommodate the rising population in the area, Bishop Henry Murphy created the new parish of Monaleen from the area in the west of St Patrick's parish. The boundaries of St Patrick's parish were further reduced in 1981 when Bishop Jeremiah Newman created a new parish called Our Lady Help of Christians.

The population of the parish of St Patrick's is around 13,000.

If you wish to go to a particular section, click on the buttons in the navigation panel on the left. Otherwise, use the arrows on either side of the heading to navigate your way page-by-page through the site.

Text-only version: Click here for a text-only, accessible version of this parish history.

St Patrick's parish today: Get more information on the Limerick Diocese website.

Heritage Project Home | Back to Top

Website by Lúnasa Design