Diocese of Limerick Heritage Project Home Index Search Help

Townlands   Parteen-Meelick-Coonagh   

Year Parish Priest Curate(s)
1704 - ? Francis Grady  
1722 - 1737 Bartholomew MacNamara  
1737 - 1740 Christopher Bermingham  
1740 - 1763 Francis Nolan  
1763 - 1769 Cornelius Kirby  
1769 - 1794 James Ryan  
1794 - 1806 James Ryan  
1806 - 1816 Denis Cahill  
1816 - 1834 Edmond Sheehy  
1834 – 1836 Maurice Fitzgibbon  
1837 Maurice Fitzgibbon Michael Egan
1838 Maurice Fitzgibbon  
1839 Maurice Fitzgibbon  
1840 Maurice Fitzgibbon Garrett O’Sullivan
1841 Maurice Fitzgibbon Garrett O’Sullivan
1842 Maurice Fitzgibbon Garrett O’Sullivan
1843 Maurice Fitzgibbon Garrett O’Sullivan
1844 Maurice Fitzgibbon Garrett O’Sullivan
1845 Maurice Fitzgibbon Garrett O’Sullivan
1846 Maurice Fitzgibbon Garrett O’Sullivan
1847 Maurice Fitzgibbon Garrett O’Sullivan
1848 Maurice Fitzgibbon Garrett O’Sullivan
1849 James O’Moore James O’Donnell
1850 James O’Moore Patrick Reeves
1851 No mention in this year’s Catholic Directory
1852 Garrett O’Sullivan Patrick Reeves
1853 Garrett O’Sullivan Patrick Reeves
1854 Garrett O’Sullivan D. O’Connor DD
1855 Garrett O’Sullivan D. O’Connor DD
1856 Garrett O’Sullivan D. O’Connor D.D.
1857 Garrett O’Sullivan D. O’Connor D.D.
1858 Garrett O’Sullivan D. O’Connor D.D.
1859 Garrett O’Sullivan D. O’Connor D.D.
1860 Garrett O’Sullivan D. O’Connor D.D.
1861 Garrett O’Sullivan D. O’Connor D.D.
1862 Garrett O’Sullivan D. O’Connor D.D.
1863 Garrett O’Sullivan D. O’Connor D.D.
1864 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1865 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1866 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1867 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1868 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1869 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1870 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1871 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1872 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1873 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1874 Garrett O’Sullivan Jeremiah Halpin
1875 James Enraght Thomas Graham
1876 James Enraght John Doody
1877 James Enraght John Doody
1878 James Enraght John Doody
1879 Luke Glesson John Doody
1880 Luke Glesson John Doody
1881 Luke Glesson John Conway
1882 Luke Glesson  
1883 Luke Glesson Edmond Tracey
1884 Luke Glesson Edmond Tracey
1885 Luke Glesson Edmond Tracey
1886 Luke Glesson Edmond Tracey
1887 Luke Glesson Edmond Tracey
1888 Luke Glesson Edmund Russell
1889 Luke Glesson David Hanly
1890 Luke Glesson David Hanly
1891 Luke Glesson David Hanly
1892 Luke Glesson David Hanly
1893 Luke Glesson David Hanly
1894 Luke Glesson David Hanly
1895 Luke Glesson David Hanly
1896 Luke Glesson David Hanly
1897 Luke Glesson David Hanly
1898 Luke Glesson David Hanly
1899 Luke Glesson Thomas Hogan
1900 Luke Glesson Michael Hayes
1901 Luke Glesson John Tierney
1902 Luke Glesson John Tierney
1903 Luke Glesson William O’Dwyer
1904 Edmund Russell* William O’Dwyer
1905 Edmund Russell William O’Dwyer
1906 Edmund Russell David Barry
1907 Edmund Russell David Barry
1908 Edmund Russell David Barry
1909 Edmund Russell Stephen O’Dea
1910 Edmund Russell Stephen O’Dea
1911 Edmund Russell Stephen O’Dea
1912 Edmund Russell Stephen O’Dea
1913 Edmund Russell Stephen O’Dea
1914 Edmund Russell John Molony
1915 Edmund Russell John Molony
1916 Edmund Russell John Molony
1917 Edmund Russell John Molony
1918 Edmund Russell John Molony
1919 Edmund Russell John Molony
1920 Edmund Russell  
1921 Edmund Russell Patrick Ruddle
1922 Canon Edmund Russell Patrick Ruddle
1923 Canon Edmund Russell Patrick Ruddle
1924 Canon Edmund Russell M. Molony
1925 Canon Edmund Russell Ed. Condon
1926 Canon Edmund Russell Ed. Condon
1927 Thomas Hogan Ed. Condon
1928 John Moloney Ed. Condon
1929 John Moloney John Kelly
1930 John Moloney John Kelly
1931 John Moloney John Kelly
1932 John Moloney John Kelly
1933 John Moloney James Culhane
1934 John Moloney John Halpin
1935 John Moloney John Halpin
1936 John Moloney John Halpin
1937 John Moloney John Halpin
1938 John Moloney John Halpin
1939 John Moloney John Halpin
1940 John Moloney John O’Donnell
1941 John Moloney John O’Donnell
1942 John Moloney John O’Donnell
1943 John Moloney John O’Donnell
1944 John Moloney John O’Donnell
    Joseph Shinnors
1945 John Moloney John O’Donnell
    Joseph Shinnors
1946 John Moloney John O’Donnell
    Joseph Shinnors
1947 John Moloney John O’Donnell
    Ed. Houlihan
1948 John Moloney John O’Donnell
    Ed. Houlihan
1949 John Moloney John O’Donnell
    Ed. Houlihan
1950 David Rea  
1951 David Rea  
1952 David Rea  
1953 David Rea  
1954 David Rea  
1955 David Rea  
1956 David Rea  
1957 David Rea  
1958 David Rea  
1959 David Rea  
1960 David Rea Francis Moriarty
1961 David Rea Francis Moriarty
1962 Michael Purtill Patrick Howard
1963 Michael Purtill David Browne
1964 Michael Purtill David Browne
1965 Michael Purtill David Browne
1966 Michael Purtill David Browne
1967 Michael Purtill David Browne
1968 Michael Purtill David Browne
1969 Michael Purtill David Browne
1970 Timothy Culhane David Browne
1971 Timothy Culhane David Browne
1972 Timothy Culhane David Browne
1973 Timothy Culhane Bernard O’Connell
1974 Timothy Culhane Bernard O’Connell
1975 Timothy Culhane Bernard O’Connell
1976 Timothy Culhane Albert Nix
1977 Michael Frawley Bernard O’Connell
1978 Michael Frawley Anthony Mulvihill
1979 Michael Frawley Anthony Mulvihill
1980 Michael Frawley Anthony Mulvihill
1981 Gerard M. Griffin Anthony Mulvihill
1982 Gerard M. Griffin Anthony Mulvihill
1983 Gerard M. Griffin Anthony Mulvihill
1984 Gerard M. Griffin Anthony Mulvihill
1985 Gerard M. Griffin Anthony Mulvihill
1986 Gerard M. Griffin Anthony Mulvihill
1987 Thomas Coughlan Anthony Mulvihill
1988 Thomas Coughlan Anthony Mulvihill
1989 Thomas Coughlan Anthony Mulvihill
1990 Thomas Coughlan Terence Loughran
1991 Thomas Coughlan  
1992 Thomas Coughlan William Aherne
1993 Thomas Coughlan Donn Shelly
1994 Thomas Coughlan Donn Shelly
1995 Thomas Coughlan Donn Shelly
1996 Thomas Coughlan Laurence Madden
1997 Thomas Coughlan Laurence Madden
1998 Liam Kelly Laurence Madden
1999 Liam Kelly Laurence Madden
2000 Liam Kelly Laurence Madden
2001 Liam Kelly Brendan Fitzgerald
2002 Liam Kelly Brendan Fitzgerald
2003 Liam Kelly Fred McDonnell
2004 Liam Kelly Fred McDonnell
2005 Liam Kelly Fred McDonnell
2006 Liam Kelly Fred McDonnell
2007 Tom Carroll Fred McDonnell

*In the Catholic Directory of 1904, the edition gives Luke Glesson as parish priest of Parteen/Meelick. As Fr Glesson died in June 1902, this has to be incorrect. The corrected list of priests of Parteen/Meelick is contained in The History & Folklore of Parteen and Meelick by Dónal Ó Riain and Séamas Ó Cinnéide.

The list of Priests from 1704 to 1836 is compiled from information gained in Begley's History of the Diocese of Limerick Vol. III page 598. The remaining years are compiled from the Catholic Directories. Information contained in a directory of any given year refers to what happened the previous year, For example if a priest is recorded in the 1954 directory as being in a particular parish, this would mean that he was actually there in 1953.

Heritage Project Home | Parteen-Meelick-Coonagh Home | Back to Top